She Works Hard for Her Money

Today I worked about sixteen hours. I am tired but in such a satisfied way.

I’ve had a job consistently since I was sixteen years old, with the exception of one semester my freshman year of college which I spent hunting for a job. I have always had at least one, but more often two, even three, jobs at a time. So these past seven or so months at just one full time job have almost felt lazy.

But at last, I am a workaholic again. I’m a little stressed about it but moreso excited because I’m fucking strange. I got up at 4:30 this morning to dress and run off to my first job, came home and changed, and was off to my second job (I’ve returned to Godiva as a part time keyholder, about thirty minutes away and with a nice little raise), and I just got home not too long ago (it is 10:42pm). Today I ate an apple, an everything bagel with garden veggie cream cheese, a few pieces of chocolate, some berries, and a few scoops of rice Joe had made when I got home just now. So uh, working days like this may be a good diet plan as well.

Day one back at Godiva went really well. One thing I love is that I can actually dress nice for work at this job. I can wear heels and a dress shirt and nice pants or a skirt and I can do my hair and makeup and wear a scarf and jewelry and not smell like a horrible combination of doughnuts, coffee, and sweat. If there is one thing I love it is to be fancy, and here I can. Plus it turns out the customers at this mall are super nice, which is an incredible change of pace. Really, having nice customers changes the game entirely. I didn’t leave feeling angry, at no point was I overwhelmed, I genuinely smiled and laughed a lot, I felt good, man.

To top it off, when I left the mall tonight the weather was gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous, and I got to drive home listening to Chevelle and I didn’t get pulled over in regards to my tag light still being out, and I just feel really content and ready to shower, go to bed, and do it again (although fortunately I don’t head to work until noon tomorrow!).

Just wanted to shout out to the joy, pride, and satisfaction of a long workday.

 

 

Leave a comment